The Office Is The Worst Place To Work via Jason Fried of 37 Signals

I just watched Jason Fried, of 37Signals talk about why workplaces are the worst places to get stuff done. Everyone I have spoken to about this, agrees with him, including me.  Inc. Magazine has written about successful companies adopting the virtual office model for a while.  However, I don’t see many companies saying goodbye to expensive real estate.  I am currently consulting with Compete.com and working at home 100% of the time. Working from home, I feel like I am more productive and focused. I must admit that it did take me a few days to get used to working from home 100% of the time but now that it is a routine, I love going into my office, closing the door and getting stuff done. While I might not be 100% focused on work the 4-5 hours I work a day from home, I am more productive than I have ever been while working in the corporate office. I think that the average employee might also experience the rush of productivity if they could get away from meetings, bosses, co-workers who love to interrupt.

What do you think? Is 2011 the year of working from home? Do you think that employers already offer flexibility on working from home? Do you meet resistance when you try to work from home? How about working remotely for a company, have you been successful doing so?  I would love to hear your thoughts and stories.

Like this blog post? Please spread the word!

 

Leave a Reply

