REVIEW: Copper Whiskey Bar & Grill in Bozeman, MT

Bar

I am giving Copper, 3 out of 5 stars. I think this is a good addition to the Bozeman bar scene.

Things I like:

  1. It is reasonably priced and the food is good “pub grub;”
  2. I love the big bar, with plenty of seating so that even on a busy night, you don’t have to wait;
  3. The decor goes a step above the usual Montana wood based interior design;

The thing that surprised me:

  1. The one thing I hope will change with time, is availability of high-end, unusual whiskeys. I got to say I was super bored with the selection they had. They carry all the usual suspects but nothing super interesting. For example, where is the cool new Japanese Whiskey or that super interesting, small batch organic whiskey? I hope with time, things will improve as they get established.

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Copper Whiskey Bar & Grill in Bozeman, MT

  1. Hey Cowgirl!
    My name is Jay Thane, I’m one of the owners at Copper Whiskey Bar and Grill. I was just cruising around our online reviews and came upon your blog, some fun stuff and good topics! I also love Marks In and out over in Livingston!

    Thanks so much for taking the time to review Copper. I’m tickled that you like how the space turned out because I am certainly very proud of it. I also appreciate the constructive criticism. On that note I just wanted to let you know that our whiskey list has expanded to 102 whiskeys including two Japanese whiskys from the Suntory distillery (Hibiki 12 and Yamazaki12), also just in is the highly sought after Black Maple Hill Bourbon. On the Micro Distillery front we have three from High West out of Park City Utah, they are doing a lot of blending and have some really good stuff and none of their whiskey are chill filtered or carbon treated. Now if you are looking for high end big names how about a Macallan 30 year? Or Balvenie 21.

    Thanks again for the review, I hope you’ll come in again soon to give us another shot, maybe stay for dinner this time. Good things are coming out of the kitchen! This past Friday we featured wild, line caught Alaskan Halibut with Pan Fried Basil Gnocchi, Provencale Tomato Salad, crispy leeks, with sauce Americaine or if you prefer a steak our Smoked Prime Rib is turning out unbelievable!

    Sorry to ramble but I just wanted to let you know that as you hoped as time goes on we are building our whiskey selection and doing our best to get better at what we do every day.

    Thanks again and please don’t be a stranger I’d love to meet you next time you come in, just have your sever tell me that the Cowgirl would like to meet me 😉

    Jay Thane

    • Does Copper still carry the Black Maple Hill? I’m visiting from Oregon, where it is hard to find so it would be a real treat to experience it in Bozeman.

Leave a comment